The White House

The White House Inn is a popular supper club for locals and visitors alike, located on Main St. in Butte des Morts.

The White House
Originally built around the turn of the century as a saloon. After becoming a popular stopping point between towns, it was eventually transformed into an inn.

In 1925 Chris Kontos turned it into a candy factory. Four years later his brother James opened it as a supper club and called it “Jimmie’s White House Inn”. His son, George Kontos, took over operation of the supper club when James passed away.

It is now known simply as “The White House” and currently has a Civil War motif.

The Butte des Morts Historical Preservation Society was started in 2014 by Joe and Patti Yana from Butte des Morts, and Randy Domer from Oshkosh.

Our mission is to collect, preserve, and disseminate materials and information relating to the rich history of Butte des Morts, Wisconsin, which began in 1818 as a fur trading post founded by Augustin Grignon.

Butte des Morts Historical Preservation Society

Board Members

Joe Yana, President
Randy Domer, Vice President
Patti Yana, Secretary/Treasurer
Vicki Wilson, at large executive committee member
George Kontos
Jim Quillinan
Tom Kontos
Harold (Skip) Thorpe
Debra Daubert


P.O. Box 332
     Butte des Morts, WI 54927
 920.582.9616
 BDMHPS@gmail.com

Copyright © 2015 Butte des Morts Historical Preservation Society. / All rights reserved.