Skeleton Bridge School

Skeleton Bridge School is a one room school house that operated from 1858 to 1956.

Found in the walls
Skeleton Bridge School was named after the bridge that crosses the nearby Skeleton Creek, thought to be so named after bones were found there.

It contains many artifacts from the days when it was in use, including many old desks, a Victrola, and a working piano. Hanging on the walls you will find old teacher contracts and a painting signed by the children that was purchased after the community donated scrap iron to buy it. The well pump still stands outside near the 110 year old “triangle tree”, so named from a graft attached to it when it was a sapling.

It was auctioned off in 1957 when Winneconne Consolidated School District was formed and it is now privately owned.

The Butte des Morts Historical Preservation Society was started in 2014 by Joe and Patti Yana from Butte des Morts, and Randy Domer from Oshkosh.

Our mission is to collect, preserve, and disseminate materials and information relating to the rich history of Butte des Morts, Wisconsin, which began in 1818 as a fur trading post founded by Augustin Grignon.

Butte des Morts Historical Preservation Society

Board Members

Joe Yana, President
Randy Domer, Vice President
Patti Yana, Secretary/Treasurer
Vicki Wilson, at large executive committee member
George Kontos
Jim Quillinan
Tom Kontos
Harold (Skip) Thorpe
Debra Daubert


P.O. Box 332
     Butte des Morts, WI 54927
 920.582.9616
 BDMHPS@gmail.com

Copyright © 2015 Butte des Morts Historical Preservation Society. / All rights reserved.