Plummer Cemetery

Originally known as the Pride Cemetery, the Plummer Cemetery is the resting place for many residents of the Butte des Morts area.

Our Board Members

It is 2 miles south of Butte des Morts on County Highway S. Some of the first settlers in this area are in this cemetery. Familiar names in the history of Butte des Morts are on the headstones here. Names like Pride, Peterson, Bogk, Boe, Benedict, Overton and Plummer to name a few. Pete Peterson and John Boe operated a general store in the Grignon Hotel. The Benedict family was well known as muskrat trappers and traders. The Overtons were some of the first settlers in the area and continue to farm here to this day. The Prides and Plummers were likewise early settlers A walk through the cemetery is a journey through the history of Butte des Morts and the surrounding area.

The Butte des Morts Historical Preservation Society was started in 2014 by Joe and Patti Yana from Butte des Morts, and Randy Domer from Oshkosh.

Our mission is to collect, preserve, and disseminate materials and information relating to the rich history of Butte des Morts, Wisconsin, which began in 1818 as a fur trading post founded by Augustin Grignon.

Butte des Morts Historical Preservation Society

Board Members

Joe Yana, President
Randy Domer, Vice President
Patti Yana, Secretary/Treasurer
Vicki Wilson, at large executive committee member
George Kontos
Jim Quillinan
Tom Kontos
Harold (Skip) Thorpe
Debra Daubert


P.O. Box 332
     Butte des Morts, WI 54927
 920.582.9616
 BDMHPS@gmail.com

Copyright © 2015 Butte des Morts Historical Preservation Society. / All rights reserved.