Grignon Hotel

The Augustin Grignon Hotel is the only building in Butte des Morts on the National Register of Historic Places.

Augustin Grignon Hotel

This Greek Revival style 3 story building was constructed by Butte des Morts founder Augustin Grignon in the 1840s. It served as a hotel in the mid 1800s to provide lodging for travelers using the Fox River and overland routes. In 1859 it was purchased by Peter Peterson and was used as a general store, post office and popular gathering place in the community.

In 1901 the property was purchased by a clerk in the store, John Boe, who continued the general store in the building. In the 1950s it was used as an antique store. It is one of the oldest remaining commercial structures in Winnebago County.

The Butte des Morts Historical Preservation Society was started in 2014 by Joe and Patti Yana from Butte des Morts, and Randy Domer from Oshkosh.

Our mission is to collect, preserve, and disseminate materials and information relating to the rich history of Butte des Morts, Wisconsin, which began in 1818 as a fur trading post founded by Augustin Grignon.

Butte des Morts Historical Preservation Society

Board Members

Joe Yana, President
Randy Domer, Vice President
Patti Yana, Secretary/Treasurer
Vicki Wilson, at large executive committee member
George Kontos
Jim Quillinan
Tom Kontos
Harold (Skip) Thorpe
Debra Daubert


P.O. Box 332
     Butte des Morts, WI 54927
 920.582.9616
 BDMHPS@gmail.com

Copyright © 2015 Butte des Morts Historical Preservation Society. / All rights reserved.